The Carmelle Murphy Alumnae Award of Distinction


The award was established in 2001 in honour of Carmelle Murphy (’51) in recognition of her dedicated service to Brescia.


Recipients of the Carmelle Murphy Alumnae Award of Distinction must:

  • Be a graduate of Brescia University College
  • Consent to be nominated
  • Be available to attend the award presentation on the Sunday of Homecoming. In the case of a post-humous award, a member of the deceased’s family must be present to accept the award.


Nomination Criteria

Achievement in Field

Why do you think this woman should be nominated for the award? What is her greatest accomplishment? Is the nominee recognised by her peers and the general population as having reached a high level of accomplishment or expertise in her field?

Contribution to the Development of Individuals

How have others been enriched or enabled by virtue of exposure to or by influence of the nominee?

Contribution to the Community

Has the nominee been a catalyst for substantive, new or existing programs or services, and has she shown a commitment to service within her community? Give a description of her volunteer work and her motivation. Describe how her community has benefited from her work.

Other Outstanding Characteristics

State how the nominee has been recognised by her peers, including any special awards she has received. Add any additional comments you have which make this nominee distinctive, including any obstacles she overcame to realise her achievements. Name three strengths about this nominee that are indicative of her leadership abilities in her community and provide some examples.

Role Model

Describe how the nominee has demonstrated her ability to be a role model for others in the various aspects of her life. How does she typify the values and strengths of Brescia?


How to Apply

This form is only the first part of the nomination process. After submitting this form, you will be contacted to arrange for the submittal of the following documents:

  • Nominee’s resume
  • Supporting documents, e.g. letters of support (maximum five pages)

Nominations for 2020 close on May 1. Any nominations received after the closing date will be forwarded to the following year.


Online Nomination Form