A teacher working with a studentIn 1919, Ursuline College was founded, with its first classes taking place at Brescia Hall, located in downtown London on Wellington Road. In 1926, Ursuline College was relocated to its present location at 1285 Western Road with the opening of its iconic building now known as Ursuline Hall. Throughout this period and up until 1999, Brescia College (as it was renamed in 1963) was owned and governed by the Ursuline Sisters of the Chatham Union.

In 1999, after much deliberation by the Ursulines, “Brescia College” (renamed in 2001 as Brescia University College) was incorporated as a not for profit corporation under the laws of Ontario. As part of this process, Brescia’s first lay Council of Trustees was established as the chief governing body of the College and Brescia’s first non-Ursuline Principal, Dr. Theresa Topic, was installed.

As of June, 2014, Brescia’s chief governing body is now known as the Board of Trustees, operating with six standing committees and ad hoc committees as needed. Brescia’s Board is well served through the skill, commitment and energy of up to 16 elected Trustees, including Ursuline Sisters, the Alumnae Association President and 12 individual Trustees from the community at large. Additionally, the Board is supported by nine non-voting Trustees, ranging from our Principal and Academic Dean, the Chair of Brescia’s Foundation Board, the President of our Students’ Council and a variety of representatives of the faculty, staff and senior leadership.